Wednesday, January 20, 2010

Plastic Beach

Everyone's favorite cartoon band is back! Yes, the Damon Albarn/Jamie Hewlett project, Gorillaz, is back with a new album, Plastic Beach, set for release on March 8th. And while it probably doesn't mean anything yet, here's the tracklisting:

1. 'Orchestral Intro'
2. 'Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach' (feat. Snoop Dogg)
3. 'White Flag (feat. Kano & Bashy)
4. 'Rhinestone Eyes'
5. 'Stylo' (feat. Bobby Womack and Mos Def)
6. 'Superfast Jellyfish' (feat. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)
7. 'Empire Ants' (feat. Little Dragon)
8. 'Glitter Freeze' (feat. Mark E Smith)
9. 'Some Kind Of Nature' (feat. Lou Reed)
10. 'On Melancholy Hill'
11. 'Broken'
12. 'Sweepstakes' (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. 'Plastic Beach' (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
14. 'To Binge' (feat. Little Dragon)
15. 'Cloud Of Unknowing' (feat. Bobby Womack)
16. 'Pirate Jet'

The first single from the album can be heard now on, and there's some instrumental promo videos available as well. Quite the large amount of guest acts on the album, no? Regardless, 'Stylo' sounds pretty good, it's not as... quirky (does that sound right?) as the band's lead singles from the last two albums, "Clint Eastwood" from their self titled debut and "Feel Good Inc." from Demon Days; but it still sounds like Gorillaz at least. Just good to hear Damon Albarn singing something new, that's my thought at least.

via NME

No comments: